I'm watching the election coverage on CNN, and I find myself a little disappointed at the whooping I'm seeing from the Democrats.
New House Leader Nancy Pelosi gave a great speech about running the most honest Congress
ever. Let's hope she makes it stick.
But to hear the cheering and hoopling? *shakes head*
I must say I am deeply, deeply relieved that President George Bush has lost control of the House, and my fingers are crossed that the Senate goes blue too. But what I feel like doing isn't cheering, it's deep-sighing and getting to work.
I don't think this was a "victory" for the Democrats, in terms of fighting for something important and
winning! I think it was a charge, a responsibility. The people have sent D.C. a plea: "Help us!" Sent it specifically to the Democrats with the added comment "because the President isn't listening."
I think the most appropriate response for "victorious" campaigners is to square their shoulders, step up to the microphone and say in a somber tone (like when you make a covenant), "American people, we have heard your plea and accept the responsibility to make the U.S. a place to be proud of again."